Heroes in Action

What you do speaks so loudly, that I cannot hear what you are saying…

-Ralph Waldo Emerson

We all make promises. We all make promises and most of those promises we can’t keep.

So why in the world do we continue to say what we don’t mean? Why do we hurt others by making empty promises? Why do we lie to them, and to ourselves. Is the world really that horrific that we need to make one up?

My father, even when I was a little girl, told Mr. Emerson’s famous quote to me. Dad always told me never to trust anyone’s words, but rather their actions. You can’t trust people anymore,(could you ever?), everyone has their own agenda and the only time they have your back is if your agendas don’t “collide” with one another. It’s sad really.

I was reading up on some notations of heroic behaviors by your average people. Without insulting those people, (and my father is included in this one), I feel myself become a little disheartened to know that the heroic acts performed by these people are only classified as such because the “normal” citizen would not have performed them in his or her place.

Why the hell not?

When did people stop caring for each others well being? Now that I think about it, I don’t know if I was ever born into an era where people ever did care about other people outside of their little world, and mainly themselves. Even I catch myself being overtly selfish.

I’m sure a lot of people feel this way too, like what’s wrong with us? Why is this a world of  “Every man for himself?”
We try so hard to feed our natural instinct to survive in life, but we forget the big picture and that is the survival of our race. We constantly poison ourselves with processed foods, medication, alcohol, recreational drugs, we kill others for profit and politics, we create machines that seemingly give us luxury and convenience, but they kill our only home and use up the equivalent of our planet’s “vital organs.”

We see people in need, but we don’t help, we shun others because of the pigmentation of their skin, or because of their gender, (and that list goes on for miles.)

We lie to ourselves everyday, stuck in our cocoon of perceived stability, personal success, and money, and we all know what’s happening. We all sense the need for not just change but a rehabilitation of life itself. So we wait for someone else to start. We fear what comes if we make a move. You see little bits and pieces all over the world… People being selfless, giving and helping.

Our main focus should be saving the human race from extinction at our own hands. (Or maybe at someone/something elses.)

Heroes lie in every one of us, every single living being has the ability to throw their hearts in the mix to make a single agenda. One that doesn’t end with death, but lives on in a future regardless of physical presence. I don’t know everything, but I know what feels right, and so do you. No matter your upbringing, or your past, you have been given the ultimate power of choice, and the choice of what is right, even if it’s a difficult one.

Let’s bring in the new year with an elevated awareness, a step to the betterment of all our race. We are all Human. we are all cognizant of the need for love, happiness, and freedom of the burden that modern life has put on us.

I’m breaking free.

With love and awareness,

Kymlee

3 thoughts on “Heroes in Action

  1. Great post. I can’t help but think of the words a man I deeply respect said:

    “It doesn’t matter if your Buddhist, Christian, Muslim, Atheist, Wiccan, or whatever it really comes down to this:

    How deep is your love? What is your quality of service to others? What kind of human being are you going to be during the move from your mothers womb to the tomb?”

    Ultimately heroes are people that love others. Justice is nothing more than love with legs. It’s the fact that our moral compasses are focused on the wrong heading. Love’s stock value has dropped and the value of indifference is steadily rising.

    I could write a novel on this subject, but I’ll spare you the torture and just re-iterate that this is a wonderful post you’ve made.

    • thank you! I’m glad we think on the same frequency. I observed the same thoughts on your page, and its refreshing… and I outright LAUGHED out LOUD about the foghorn leghorn post. That was HiLaRiOuS!

Tell Kymlee what you think!

